𝗠𝗮𝗿𝗶𝗻𝗲 𝗥𝗲𝘀𝗼𝘂𝗿𝗰𝗲𝘀 𝗜𝗻𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗮𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗲 – 𝗧𝗲𝗰𝗵𝗻𝗶𝗰𝗮𝗹 𝗔𝗱𝘃𝗶𝘀𝗼𝗿𝘆 𝗚𝗿𝗼𝘂𝗽 (𝗠𝗥𝗜-𝗧𝗔𝗚) 𝗺𝗲𝗺𝗯𝗲𝗿𝘀 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝘃𝗲𝗻𝗲𝗱

by | Feb 15, 2024

Today, 14 February 2024, five experts convened via zoom to institutionalize the creation of the Technical Advisory Group (TAG) of the Marine Resources Initiative (MRI) Project Monitoring and Management of Marine Resource Component. The project funded by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) in collaboration with the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) aims to design practical applications of technologies to support, advance and integrate coral reef monitoring efforts.

The Technical Advisory Group (TAG) is composed of experts that will oversight the implementation of the MRI project and provide guidelines to maximize project outcomes and link the project into coral reef-related monitoring initiatives in the Philippines. The group is also expected to identify opportunities and connections wherein the result of the project can be better apply and utilize, to have a better impact for the environment.

TAG members are Dr. Wilfredo Licuanan of De La Salle University, Dr. Vincent Hilomen – former Executive Director for Priority Programs of DENR Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB), Dr. Roger Dolorosa of Western Philippines University, Dr. Romeo Cabungcal of the Office of the Provincial Agriculture, Dr. Laure Thierry de Ville d’ Avray of Sulubaaï Environmental Foundation, and Dr. Maria Vanessa Rodriguez (on field) of UP Marine Science Institute (MSI).

Dr. Manuel Gonzalez Rivero, Principal Scientist of the Australian Institute of Marine Science briefed the TAG members on the project and the importance of the TAG.

The group is expected to provide guidance to the PCSD Staff on matters concerning marine resources monitoring and management, and inform new and updated policies and strategies during the project implementation period and beyond project life in November 2024.